20th AGAH Annual Meeting

20 Years of Applied Human Pharmacology in Clinical Drug Development –
Lessons Learned and Translation to Future Needs

21 – 23 February 2010, Hamburg, Germany 

To foster the creation of an association for applied human pharmacology, a group of human pharmacology experts working in Phase 1 Units in Industry and CROs organised a first conference in 1990 to exchange information and experience on how to perform human pharmacology trials according to the then newly established GCP principles and to enable faster drug development. This led to the foundation of AGAH (Association For Applied Human Pharmacology) which became incorporated in 1991, creating a lot of enthusiasm resulting every year in an interesting programme for the annual meetings. Thus, 2010 has marked the 20th AGAH Annual Meeting.

This was an excellent opportunity to critically review the progress made since, the lessons learned, as well as the potential to translate this knowledge into strategies and tools to successfully manage the forthcoming challenges in human pharmacology: drugs with new mechanisms of action, personalised therapies, higher pressure to achieve better predictability of a molecule’s suitability for further development, shorter development times and globalization of trial performance.

This conference gave the opportunity to critically review current and past approaches to drug development, learn about experiences and practical aspects of human pharmacology, discuss strategies and up-to-date tools for further improvement of clinical development in special populations, difficult pharmacokinetic conditions and an ever-changing regulatory environment.

Programme of the Annual Meeting 2010

Presentations of the Annual Meeting 2010

20. Jahrestagung der AGAH

20 Jahre Angewandte Human­pharmakologie in der klinischen Arzneimittel­entwicklung – Lessons Learned and Translation to Future Needs

21. – 23. Februar 2010, Hamburg

Mit dem Ziel eine Gesellschaft für angewandte Humanpharmakologie zur gründen, organisierte 1990 eine Gruppe von Humanpharmakologen aus Phase I Einheiten in Industrie und CROs eine erste Konferenz zum Austausch von Informationen und Erfahrungen wie humanpharmakologische Studien entsprechend den damals neu etablierten GCP Prinzipien durchgeführt werden können und wie die Arzneimittelentwicklung beschleunigt werden kann. Diese Konferenz führte zur Gründung der AGAH (Arbeitsgemeinschaft angewandte Humanpharmakologie), die 1991 als Verein eingetragen wurde. Seitdem werden durch die AGAH jedes Jahr ein interessantes Programm auf den Jahrestagungen präsentiert. Im Jahr 2010 hat diese Veranstaltung zum 20. mal stattgefunden.

Dies war eine exzellente Gelegenheit kritisch zurückzuschauen und die Fortschritte zu evaluieren, die seither gemacht wurden, aus dem Vergangenen zu lernen und aus den gemachten Erfahrungen für die Zukunft Strategien und Tools zu entwickeln, um die wesentlichen zukünftigen Herausforderungen in der Humanpharmakologie zu meistern: Arzneimttel mit neuen Wirkmechanismen, personalisierte Medizin, bessere Voraussagbarkeit zur Eignung einzelner Moleküle, ingesamt kürzere Entwicklungszeiten sowie die zunehmende Globalisierung der Arzneimittelentwicklung.

Diese Konferenz hatte Gelegenheit gegeben, kritisch die derzeitigen und vergangenen Entwicklungsansätze zu hinterfragen, aus Erfahrungen und praktischen Aspekten der Humanpharmakologie zu lernen, sowie Strategien und aktuelle Hilfsmittel für die zukünftige Arzneimittelentwicklung in speziellen Populationen, schwierigen pharmakokinetischen Konditionen und ein sich ständig änderndes regulatorisches Umfeld zu diskutieren.

Programm des Annual Meetings 2010

Präsentationen des Annual Meeting 2010